Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Ltd. (CATL) has started trial production of battery cells at its new cell-manufacturing plant in Debrecen, Hungary, marking the transition from module assembly to on-site cell manufacture as the company moves to expand its European footprint.
What started and why it matters
Multiple industry reports and CATL statements show the trial run began on 22 September 2026 and covers the first two cell production lines at the Debrecen site. The trial phase is intended to commission, optimise and validate production equipment and manufacturing processes ahead of series production. The facility is part of a multi-phase investment programme budgeted at up to €7.3 billion (reported as US$8.35 billion by one source) and is designed for a total annual nameplate capacity of 100 GWh once fully built out.
Verified specifications and production context
From the available sources:
- Investment and scale: the project is reported as a €7.3 billion investment and, when complete, the site is planned for 100 GWh annual cell capacity, which CATL says would make it its largest manufacturing base outside China.
- Trial coverage: the initial trial run operates on the first two cell lines. One report states those two lines are operating at a capacity of 34 GWh during testing, while other reporting describes the trial simply as the commissioning of two lines (sources differ on whether the 34 GWh figure refers to tested throughput or installed line capability).
- Previous activity: CATL has been assembling battery modules at Debrecen since autumn 2024; reports cite approximately 537,000 modules produced to date.
- Chemistries: the plant is designed to produce both NMC and LFP lithium-ion cells, but CATL has not publicly disclosed which chemistry is being manufactured during this trial phase.
Permitting, safety concerns and how they were resolved
Local permitting and occupational-safety issues delayed the start of cell production earlier in 2026. Hungarian authorities carried out inspections and temporarily suspended work in three areas after biological monitoring found elevated nickel exposure among nine employees and identified shortcomings in personal protective equipment. Sources report CATL implemented remedial measures and that the Hajdú-Bihar County Government Office confirmed deficiencies had been addressed. An occupancy permit for the first production building was issued on 25 August 2026, and CATL completed conditions under its Integrated Pollution Prevention and Control (IPPC) permit before beginning trial runs.
Who the factory is meant to serve
CATL positions the Debrecen site to serve Europe’s automotive manufacturing network. Analysts quoted in reporting say the plant could help CATL win larger orders from European marques such as BMW and Volkswagen; CATL has previously tailored battery packs for European clients. CATL’s sales outside mainland China were reported to have risen sharply in the first half of 2026, accounting for a significant portion of company revenue according to one report.
What is confirmed, and where sources disagree
- Confirmed: trial production started on 22 September 2026; the project is designed for 100 GWh eventual capacity; CATL produced roughly 537,000 modules at Debrecen since 2024; occupancy and IPPC conditions were satisfied before trials began (sources: SCMP, ElectricCarsReport, Bestmag, EvPowered, SaurEnergy).
- Disagreement/unclear: one source states the two operational lines are “operating at a capacity of 34 GWh” during testing; other sources describe only that two lines are in trial without quantifying interim GWh throughput. Also, CATL has not disclosed which cell chemistry is in production during the trial (reports confirm the plant can make NMC and LFP but do not confirm which is being trialled).
Practical checklist for stakeholders monitoring this site
If you are a supplier, automaker procurement team, investor, or local regulator tracking CATL’s Debrecen ramp, use this focused checklist to interpret subsequent announcements:
- Permit status: verify if occupancy permits for phases two and three have been issued and whether any site-plan corrections remain outstanding (reports note a prior application for later phases was rejected because of site-plan representation issues).
- Line commissioning updates: request or monitor disclosure of the number of lines commissioned and each line’s nominal and tested GWh throughput to reconcile the reported “34 GWh” testing figure with later reporting.
- Chemistry disclosure: seek confirmation of whether the trial lines are producing NMC, LFP, or both—this affects vehicle integration, warranties and downstream thermal-management choices.
- Health & safety monitoring: ask for ongoing biological-monitoring results and PPE audit outcomes to confirm corrective actions remain effective as volume rises.
- Customer qualification: check whether CATL announces OEM qualification runs or supply contracts tied explicitly to the Debrecen cell lines, and whether packs designed for European clients are being produced at Debrecen or still supplied from elsewhere.
Market context and limitations of available evidence
The Debrecen plant is one node in a wider European land-grab for battery and EV production capacity. Reports place the factory in proximity to other planned and operating plants in Central and Eastern Europe and note automakers including BMW building EV capacity in the region. However, the current evidence packet does not include any CATL release naming specific European customers that will receive cells from Debrecen during the trial or at series start. Similarly, while a source translates the project cost to US$8.35 billion, most reporting uses the €7.3 billion figure—both figures originate from the same reporting pool and should be treated as equivalent currency representations in different currencies.
Quick technical-normalisation note
For readers comparing capacity numbers: a 100 GWh annual nameplate for a gigafactory is commonly interpreted as enough battery cells for roughly 2 million electric cars at an assumed 50 kWh pack size each (one source applied a 500 km/311 miles range example to make a similar vehicle-count estimate). Interim testing figures like the cited 34 GWh should be treated as temporary commissioning throughput rather than sustained series-production output until the company states otherwise.
Next milestones to watch
- Public announcements from CATL confirming the chemistry in trial and commercial production start date.
- OEM qualification agreements or supply contracts tied to Debrecen capacity.
- Regulatory publications from Hajdú-Bihar authorities on ongoing inspections or environmental monitoring reports.
- Production-rate disclosures showing movement from trial-line throughput to sustained series output.
“The trial phase is intended to commission, optimise and validate production equipment and manufacturing processes ahead of series production.” — company and industry reporting summarised from available sources.
We will update this report as CATL or Hungarian authorities publish new, verifiable details about production chemistry, commercial supply agreements and sustained throughput figures.
