| Welcome to Global Village Space

Thursday, May 23, 2024

Asif Ali Zardari becomes President for the 2nd time: Shehbaz expresses best wishes

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif extended congratulations to the president-elect for his victory.

Asif Ali Zardari, the Co-Chairman of the Pakistan Peoples Party, has been re-elected as the President of Pakistan for a second term, following a joint session of the parliament and four provincial assemblies on Saturday.

The joint parliament session, chaired by Chief Justice Amir Farooq of the Islamabad High Court, marked a significant political event as Zardari secured another term as the nation’s highest officeholder. This election marked the conclusion of a comprehensive democratic process, which involved voting in the Senate, National Assembly, and provincial assemblies.

Senator Sherry Rehman of the Pakistan Peoples Party acted as the polling agent for Asif Ali Zardari, while Senator Shafique Tareen performed the same role for Mahmood Khan Achakzai, the candidate of the Sunni Ittehad Council, a party primarily composed of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers.

The combined results from the Senate and National Assembly showed Zardari receiving 255 votes compared to Achakzai’s 119 votes. In the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, Achakzai secured 91 votes, while Zardari received 17 votes. Zardari garnered 246 votes in the Punjab Assembly, while Achakzai trailed with 100 votes. In the Sindh Assembly, Zardari secured 151 votes compared to Achakzai’s 9 votes. Notably, Zardari received 47 votes from the Balochistan Assembly, while Achakzai failed to secure any votes from the province.

According to a notification issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the ruling coalition’s candidate obtained 411 votes, while the PTI-backed candidate received 181 votes from the Electoral College.

More to read:The Best International Women’s Day present is the gift of pregnancy – Russian MP

Earlier in the day, the ECP rejected a request by Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) presidential candidate Mahmood Khan Achakzai to postpone the elections, stating that no objections were raised during the nomination paper submission and scrutiny phase.

Shehbaz extended congratulations 

The ruling coalition, comprising the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) among other allies, endorsed Asif Ali Zardari’s nomination for the presidency, highlighting a broader political consensus within the coalition regarding Zardari’s leadership.

However, PTI Chairman Barrister Gohar Ali Khan criticised Zardari’s election, stating that it undermines democracy and equates to constitutional abrogation. Other PTI leaders, including Omar Ayub Khan and Latif Khosa, also deemed the election illegal and demanded the return of the allegedly stolen mandate to the people.

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif extended congratulations to the president-elect for his victory, noting that elected representatives from both provincial and national assemblies had shown trust in the ruling coalition’s candidate.

He voiced optimism about Zardari’s ability to discharge his presidential duties effectively, highlighting his potential to represent the interests of the nation.

PM Shehbaz emphasized that Zardari’s election symbolized the continuation of democratic principles, affirming the ruling coalition’s commitment to advancing Pakistan’s development and well-being.