News Desk |
International Cricket Council (ICC) has warned MS Dhoni, Indian cricketer, for wearing an army related insignia on his gloves. Dhoni who is also an honorary lieutenant colonel in the Territorial Army had sported its dagger insignia on his gloves during India’s opening World Cup match against South Africa. This contravened two ICC rules: one relating to the display of “personal messages” and the other concerning the logo on his gloves, which allows only the display of the manufacturer.
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (born 7 July 1981), commonly known as MS Dhoni, is world famous Indian international cricketer who had previously been captain of Indian team. He captained the Indian national team in limited-overs formats from 2007 to 2016 and in Test cricket from 2008 to 2014. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, India won the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, the 2010 and 2016 Asia Cups, the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.
Dhoni is a right-handed middle-order batsman and wicket-keeper, he is one of the highest run scorers in One Day Internationals (ODIs) with more than 10,000 runs scored and is considered an effective “finisher” in limited-overs formats. He is also regarded by some as one of the best wicket-keepers in modern limited-overs international cricket.
What happened in match with South Africa?
ICC raised the red flag after it noticed the insignia of a dagger on the back of MS Dhoni’s gloves in a match against South Africa on June 5th. The dagger seems to be a replica used by the Indian Army.
The ICC had warned the Board of Control for Cricket in Indian to ask MS Dhoni not to wear the gloves in future matches. The Indian cricketing board (BCCI) however, in return requested the ICC to allow MS Dhoni to wear the gloves, which ICC rejected.
If there is a specific norm that has to be followed, we will not break that norm. We will play the game by the rules of the ICC in letter and spirit.
Dhoni has now been warned by ICC; according to rules, Dhoni can be fined 25% of his match fee for a second breach. This fine would then rise to 50% on the third breach and 75% on the fourth breach.
Vinod Rai, the head Chairman of Administrators, in BCCI, (Board of Cricket Control India) told the press that he had requested the ICC to allow Dhoni to wear the gloves but ICC rejected the plea. The BCCI, according to Vinod Rai, does not want to escalate the matter.
“If there is any flexibility available, we have sought permission for the ICC to allow the player to wear the gloves,” Rai said. “If there is a specific norm that has to follow, we will not break that norm. We will play the game by the rules of the ICC in letter and spirit.”
He said: “And it is not the paramilitary regimental dagger that is embossed in his gloves. So, Dhoni is not in breach of ICC regulations.” Meanwhile, this is how Twitter reacted: