| Welcome to Global Village Space

Wednesday, February 14, 2024

List of SAPMs who resigned from PTI government

The recent SAPM to call it quits on the PTI government was Tabish Gauhar, who resigned twice. After his resignation, it is pertinent to look at the complete list of SAPMs who left the PTI government, either voluntarily or involuntarily.

As PM Khan recently accepted Tabish Gauhar’s resignation as SAPM on Power & Petroleum, Twitteratis noticed that Tabish Gauhar is the eleventh SAPM leaving the PTI government.

The recent SAPM to call it quits on the PTI government was Tabish Gauhar, who resigned twice. Earlier this year, Tabish Gauhar handed in his resignation two months after his appointment as SAPM.

Displeased with his tough position on the government’s negotiations with the Independent Power Producers (IPPs), Tabish Gauhar resigned via WhatsApp message to PM Khan who refused to accept it.

This time around, as per a government notification, PM Khan gladly accepted Tabish Gauhar’s resignation. As per reports, PM Khan was not happy with Tabish Gauhar’s performance and asked him to tender his resignation.

Read more: Circular Debt: Pakistan’s Bleeding Wound? Tabish Gauhar Explains

In this regard, a Twitterati compiled a list containing names of SAPMs who either resigned or left at the PTI government’s request.

Similarly, authorities told SAPM Digital Tania Aidrus and SAPM Health Dr. Zafar Mirza to step down last year.

Sources close to PM stated that Tania Aidrus “resigned” due to a conflict of interests. According to a report by ARY, Tania failed to satisfy the PM on the role and circumstances under which the government created the Digital Pakistan Foundation. As a result, PM Khan removed Tania Aidrus from her SAPM role.

Meanwhile, Dr. Zafar Mirza faced an inquiry regarding the import of medicines and a hike in the price of drugs.

Read more: Dr. Zafar Mirza says Coronavirus in Pakistan is not disastrous as death toll reaches 1300

Why do SAPMs resign?

In May, SAPM Zulfi Bukhari resigned from his position over the allegations leveled against him in the Rawalpindi Ring Road project scam.

He then decided to step down until his name was cleared of “any allegations and media’s obnoxious lies” regarding the case.

However, SAPM’s also resign owing to differences with the government. SAPM on Finance and Revenue Dr. Waqar Masood resigned from his post after developing differences with Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin.

Read more: SAPM – more than a buzzword?

The differences between them grew over the International Monetary Fund (IMF) program. Tarin favored negotiations with the IMF to obtain some relaxation from the moneylender.

On the other hand, Masood was of the view that his recommendations as SAPM on revenue are being ignored. The same complaint Tabish Gauhar had when he first resigned earlier this year.