| Welcome to Global Village Space

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

PTI senators to boycott President Alvi’s parliament joint session?

Currently, all eyes are on the joint session of the parliament scheduled for today which will be addressed by President Alvi.

It is being reported that PTI senators will boycott the joint session of the Parliament today, to be addressed by President Arif Alvi.

President Arif Alvi will chair the joint session of the parliament. However, it is being reported that PTI Chairman Imran Khan has allegedly asked the party to boycott the session despite the fact that President Alvi is a senior leader of PTI.

If PTI senators boycott today’s session then it won’t be the first time. Back in June, PTI senators stayed away from the joint session of the parliament in protest of the electoral reforms bill that deprived overseas Pakistanis of their right to vote, and the NAB amendment bills.

Read more: Shehbaz Sharif new PM as PTI MNAs, deputy speaker boycott NA session

Shortest parliamentary year?

Currently, all eyes are on the joint session of the parliament scheduled for today. President Alvi will address the joint session of Parliament today, marking the last parliamentary year of the term of the present National Assembly.

Under Article 56’s clause three, the president must address the Parliament after each general election and the first session of the parliamentary year to inform the lawmakers of the “causes of its summons”.

Interestingly, this will be the shortest parliamentary year since it would consist of 310 days if the National Assembly isn’t dissolved earlier.

President Alvi was to address the joint session on August 14, but due to the apprehensions of the coalition government, the address was postponed. After all the matters were been settled following a meeting between President Alvi and Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, the joint session has been called today.

It is expected from the President to throw light on the performance of the government in the past year while identifying the goals for the following year.

Read more: Imran Khan’s PTI ends its boycott of Parliament, but why?