| Welcome to Global Village Space

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Here is how much tax your elected representatives paid in 2018

A tax directory of Pakistan's elected representatives for the year 2018 has been published by the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR).

A tax directory of Pakistan’s elected representatives for the year 2018 has been published by the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR). tax 2018  

According to FBR, former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi paid the highest tax of Rs241,329,362 in 2018 out of all parliamentarians.

Former president and PPP Co-Chairperson Asif Ali Zardari paid Rs2,891,455, whereas PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari paid Rs294,117 in taxes in 2018. tax 2018 

Former Punjab chief minister and PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif paid Rs9,730,545, Shehbaz’s son, Hamza, paid Rs8,705,368 in taxes and Prime Minister Imran Khan paid Rs282,449 in the same year. tax 2018

Jam Kamal highest tax payer from among the provincial CMs 

Among the four provincial chief ministers, the greatest amount was paid by Balochistan’s Jam Kamal at Rs4,808,948, while Sindh’s Murad Ali Shah paid Rs1,022,184 and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Mahmood Khan paid Rs235,982 in 2018.

Chief Minister Punjab Usman Bazdar did not pay any tax during this period.

Read More: FBR surpasses its tax collection target by a margin of Rs57 billion in July

The tax payments of other elected representatives in 2018

(Note: The following list does not track how much taxes have been paid by parliamentarians as members of associations of persons (AOPs), as AOPs pay taxes as separate entities. Therefore, some parliamentarians may have been reported as paying lesser taxes than they actually do.) tax 2018

– Information and Broadcasting Minister Shibli Faraz paid Rs367,460
– Human Rights Minister Dr Shireen Mazari paid Rs2,435,650
– Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi paid Rs183,900
– Interior Minister Ijaz Ahmad Shah paid Rs58,120
– Defence Minister Pervez Khattak paid Rs1,826,899
– Law Minister Farogh Naseem paid Rs35,135,459
– Planning Minister Asad Umer paid Rs5,346,342
– Aviation Minister Ghulam Sarwar Khan paid Rs1,046,669
– Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed paid Rs579,011
– Narcotics Control Minister Azam Khan Swati paid Rs590,916
– Power Minister Omar Ayub Khan paid Rs26,055,517
– States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) Minister Shehryar Afridi paid Rs183,900
– Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan Affairs Minister Ali Amin Gandapur paid Rs378,763
– Communications and Postal Services Minister Murad Saeed paid Rs374,728
– National Food Security and Research Minister Fakhar Imam paid Rs5,212,137
– Industries and Production Minister Hammad Azhar paid Rs22,445
– Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood paid Rs231,730
– Economic Affairs Minister Khusro Bukhtiar paid Rs624,292
– Maritime Affairs Minister Ali Haider Zaidi paid Rs896,191
– IT and Telecommunication Minister Aminul Haque paid Rs66,749
– National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser paid Rs537,730
– Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani paid Rs1,363,414
– Senate Deputy Chairperson Saleem Mandviwalla paid Rs1,591,722
– State Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Ali Muhammad Khan paid Rs430,695

Provincial tax payments 

Punjab had paid Rs269 billion, Balochistan Rs13 billion, Sindh Rs349 billion, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Rs29 billion, and Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) paid income tax worth Rs 115billion in 2018.

FBR had collected Rs76 billion worth income tax from Association of Persons (AoPs), Rs497 billion from companies, while Rs129 billion from salaried individuals and Rs185 billion from non-salaried individuals in the TY 2018. tax 2018

1,356,813 individuals of the Punjab region filed tax, while 632,583 individuals from the Sindh region, 35,045 individuals from the Balochistan region, 133,745 individuals from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa region, and 114,987 individuals belonging from ICT paid tax in TY 2018.