| Welcome to Global Village Space

Friday, April 12, 2024

Asia Cup 2022: Pak, India fined 40% match fee for slow over-rate

The first Asia Cup 2022 match between the national cricket teams of Pakistan and India resulted in fines for both teams for slow over rates.

In their exciting Asia Cup 2022 match, the national cricket teams of Pakistan and India were each penalized for playing due to their sluggish overrate.

On Sunday, August 28, the Babar Azam-led Pakistan National Cricket Team faced off against the Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team in the second game of the ongoing Asia Cup at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

After a fascinating and challenging struggle with Pakistan, India won the game.

The Men in Blue and the Men in Green were reportedly penalised 40% of their match fees for sustaining a sluggish over-rate in the Asia Cup match No. 2 on Wednesday, according to a statement from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Read More: Pakistan, India likely to play thrice in Asia Cup

Notably, time allowances were taken into account, and it was determined that the teams fell two overs shy of their respective targets.

“Both India and Pakistan have been fined 40 per cent of their match fees for maintaining a slow over-rate in their Group A match of the Asia Cup on Sunday, August 28.

“Jeff Crowe of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanctions after Rohit Sharma and Babar Azam’s sides were ruled to be two overs short of their respective targets after time allowances were taken into consideration,” the International Cricket Council (ICC) said in an official media release.

“In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time. Both captains pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing.

“On-field umpires Masudur Rahman and Ruchira Pilliyaguruge, third umpire Raveendra Wimalasiri and fourth umpire Gazi Sohel levelled the charges,” ICC further stated.