| Welcome to Global Village Space

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Newly elected MNA’s take oath for third consecutive democratic government


Newly-elected lawmakers took oath for the third consecutive democratic government, in the inaugural session of the 15th National Assembly on Monday (Today). The Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq entered the lower house building at 10:15 am to start the proceedings of the swearing-in ceremony.

At the beginning, he announced the procedures of the oath-taking ceremony and conveyed to the house that elections for Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly will be held on August 15. Outgoing NA speaker administered the oath to the newly-elected members. Following the oath-taking, the signing of the ‘Roll of Members’ took place.

Pakistan People’s Party Co. Chairman and the former President Asif Ali Zardari was the first in the Alphabetical order to sign the roll call register. In a political career spanning decades, it is the first time that Zardari has been elected the member national assembly.

Read more: Khan may take oath on 14th August as MQM completes the…

Other than Zardari, prominent political party leaders PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif and PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari were also present in the lower house. Likewise, it is the first-time that Bilawal has been elected to the National Assembly.

As the MNA-elects took their seats, when Bilawal entered the Parliament house, Imran Khan graciously shook hands with him and had the picture taken with him on a historic day. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan, and Pakistan’s prime minister in-waiting, also took the oath.

Earlier, the caretaker prime minister Justice (retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk had requested the President Mamnoon Hussain to call the session on August 13. President approved the summary. And, on the request of the PTI and Caretaker law and Information Minister Ali Zafar, he [President] postponed his foreign trip.

Read more: PM elect Imran Khan to take oath on August 18, Winning…

President Mamnoon was scheduled to visit Edinburgh from August 16 to August 19; however, he has now decided to postpone his foreign trip in order to administer the oath to the next PM on August 18.