| Welcome to Global Village Space

Friday, April 12, 2024

Imran Khan’s Nomination Papers for NA-108 accepted

Lahore High Court has accepted Imran Khan’s nomination papers to contest for NA-108 .

According to Farrukh Habib, the leader of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the Lahore High Court (LHC) has accepted Imran Khan’s nomination papers for NA-108 Faisalabad, overturning the returning officer’s decision.

Imran Khan, the chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, previously had his nomination papers for the NA-108 National Assembly Constituency rejected. The former prime minister’s nomination papers were rejected, according to the district election commissioner for NA-108, since he did not adequately address the concerns raised about his holdings.

The recent announcement came after the PTI Chairman declared all his and his wife Bushra Bibi’s assets in the nomination papers to contest the by-elections from Faisalabad constituency NA-108.

Barrister Syed Ali Zafar also took to twitter to make the announcement.


PTI Faisalabad’s twitter account also made the announcement.


Read More: Ex-PM Imran Khan to contest by-elections on 9 NA seats

Pertinent to mention that Imran Khan’s nomination papers for eight constituencies had already been accepted. PTI leaders from the NA-22, 24, 31, 45, 108, 118, 237, 239, and 246 constituencies in Mardan, Charsadda, Peshawar, Kurram, Faisalabad, Nankana, Malir, Korangi, and Karachi’s District South, respectively, filed Khan’s papers. Now that his nomination papers for the constituency of Faisalabad has also been accepted, he will be able to contest elections on all the nine seats.

The Election Commission of Pakistan had announced September 25 as the date for the by-polls after nine seats of the National Assembly had been vacated when resignations of several PTI leaders were accepted by the Speaker National Assembly. These included Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Ali, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Ijaz Ahmed Shah, Muhammad Akram Cheema,  Abdul Shakoor Shad, Dr. Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari and Shandana Gulzar Khan. Dr. Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari and Shandana Gulzar Khan had been elected on the reserved seats for women and Khan had decided to contest elections on the remaining 9 seats.