| Welcome to Global Village Space

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

ECP rejects PTI’s plea seeking Faryal Talpur’s disqualification

The Election Commission rejected a petition to disqualify MPA Faryal Talpur on Wednesday.

A request to disqualify Faryal Talpur, an MPA for the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), was denied by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday.

Asif Ali Zardari’s sister was petitioned for disqualification as a member of the Sindh Assembly, and the ECP had reserved judgement on the matter. The petition was brought by leaders of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Arsalan Taj and Rabia Azfar.

The Election Commission found that the respondent had revealed her assets in its ruling today and that disqualification required substantial and verifiable evidence. It further stated that the petitioners had not provided sufficient evidence to support their claim of disqualification.

The PPP leader was purported to be “Sadiq and Ameen” in the petition; however, it was claimed that she should be disqualified under Article 62 of the Constitution since she neglected to disclose the specifics of her assets to the ECP, which effectively rendered her ineligible.

The petition claimed that Faryal Talpur was named in a case involving billions of rupees in corruption through fictitious bank accounts and that Talpur held properties in Larkana and Shahdadkot.

Read More: PM, Asif Ali Zardari discuss overall political situation

Final arguments in the case were presented to the electoral body during the last hearing by the attorneys representing the two parties.

The petitioner’s attorney asserted that Mrs. Talpur failed to disclose all of her assets and hid information.

Talpur’s attorney assured the ECP panel that his client had disclosed all of his assets, claiming that the situation did not include non-declaration.

The Election Commission panel instructed the attorney for Faryal Talpur to “Show your record, which will finish the case.” The decision on the plea was later reserved by the ECP, and it was made public today.

During the 2018 general elections, Talpur received 53,627 votes from the Larkana PS 10 Rattodero constituency. Only 37,665 votes were cast for his PTI opponent Ameer Buksh Khan Bhutto.