| Welcome to Global Village Space

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

PCB Reveals Squads for Afghanistan Series and Asia Cup

The squad was revealed by newly-appointed chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq in a press conference at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. 

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled the squads poised to command the forthcoming Afghanistan ODI series and the prestigious Asia Cup. The fervor surrounding these selections underscores the PCB’s deliberate approach to fortify the national lineup for these high-stakes cricketing encounters.

The Squad

The squad was unveiled by chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq in a press conference at the Gaddafi Stadium.

The squad includes Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmad, Inam-ul-Haq, Muhammad Haris, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Waseem Jr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir, and Captain Babar Azam.

Openers: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq

Middle order: Babar Azam (captain), Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir and Saud Shakeel (only for Afghanistan series).

Spinners: Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Mohammad Nawaz and Usama Mir

Pace all-rounder: Faheem Ashraf

Wicketkeepers: Mohammad Rizwan and Mohammad Haris

Pacers: Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah and Shaheen Afridi 

Read More: Majid Al Futtaim Opens First Carrefour in Islamabad

Tayyab Tahir, Faheem Ashraf and Saud Shakeel have been included in the squad for the Afghanistan series.

Shan Masood and Ihsanullah, both of whom were part of the squad that competed in five ODIs against New Zealand in April and May, have not been included this squad.

Faheem returns to the side after two years and further adds to the balance of the side as a fast bowling all-rounder. His last outing in the format was during Pakistan’s three-match away series against England in July 2021.