| Welcome to Global Village Space

Saturday, April 20, 2024

PTI university claims shunned by HEC

News Analysis |

As general elections are closing in, politicians indulge in ceasefire via dialogues on a regular basis.

Read more: Independent Observers arrive in Pakistan, as the nation gears up for…

The growing rivalry among two political groups, Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI), led by Imran Khan and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), led by Nawaz Sharif, on various events, go all out with their claims as well as critiques.

Recently, Higher Education Commission, (HEC)’s data opposed one such claim made by PTI leader Imran Khan, about building none universities in his 5 year rule in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Investing maximum efforts in his campaigning, Imran Khan’s one such claim was proved erroneous, as records indicated only four universities being registered in the province during PTI’s tenure.

A report released in July, showcased at least 5 institutions listed as universities by the provincial governments Higher Education Management Information Sector (HEMIS) cell, however, these were not recognized by the HEC.

The HEMIS report claims that during PTI’s tenure, its government made 9 public sector universities. However, HEC confirmed that only 3 universities have been given charters in the previous 4 years. The other 5 which we added in a list are either undergoing a development or aren’t universities at all.  They are simply managed by either a project manager or director with no signs of a vice chancellor. Another assumption is that they may be sub campuses of older universities, established years ago.

Whereas, Imran Khan’s tweet showcased another story,


It also claimed to establish nine universities in different parts of the province including the Women University in Mardan, a Women’s University in Swabi, Shuhada-e-Army Public School University of Technology, Nowshera, the Abbottabad University of Science and Technology (AUST), the University of Buner, the University of Chitral, University of Agricultural Dera Ismail Khan, University of Engineering and Technology , Mardan, and the University of Science and Technology in Lakki Marwat during the five years.

According to the HEC reports, there are currently 23 public-sector universities registered in the province of KPK, adding that there were eight varsities in 2002.

Read more: Why is Qadri boycotting 2018 elections – Ideology or ground reality?

On the other hand, 11 universities were built by the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) followed by Awami National Party (ANP) in the subsequent 10 years, bringing the total number up to 19.

The official shared that University of Buner anthe d University of Chitral were originally campuses of the Abdul Wali Khan University in Mardan, adding that the government had given them the status of the varsities but had not been recognized by the HEC.

Similarly, UET Mardan which was originally a campus for UET Peshawar had not been registered with the commission.

Other two universities, Agricultural varsity in Dera Ismail Khan and UET Lakki Marwat, which PTI claimed to be built are yet to be registered by the HEC