As time out came into play, Mathews got out without facing a ball
During the Bangladesh-Sri Lanka World Cup match, Angelo Mathews, an experienced Sri Lankan batter, came to bat in the 25th over of the Sri Lankan innings. He was dismissed as per the rule of time out , the first ever player in the history of international cricket to get out in such a bizarre fashion.
According to the details , on Monday, Sri Lanka was 125 for 5 when Mathews came to the crease. His arrival was possible as his teammate, Samarawickrama, got out. This was the 25th over of Sri Lanka innings. Mathews arrived at the crease. He took his guard. And he found that the strap of his helmet had just broken. He asked his teammates to bring a new helmet for him.
Laws are sometimes harsh, and he, after all, had to leave the field.
But he was unaware that time was running out, and to his surprise, the umpire asked him to leave the crease as he was given out on being timed out. He stood there, explaining to the umpires that his helmet’s strap had been broken. But laws are sometimes harsh, and he, after all, had to leave the field.
According to the laws of cricket, as per rule No. 40.1.1, “After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 2 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out.”
The call from the umpire did not seem to sound great to Dale Steyn, who expressed his unhappiness while posting on X:
Well, that wasn’t cool ⏰
— Dale Steyn (@DaleSteyn62) November 6, 2023
Micheal Vaughan, in a state of utter surprise, posted:
Timed OUT for helmet issues .. that’s a new one .. #CWC2023
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) November 6, 2023
It is worth mentioning that both Silence and Bangladesh are out of the World Cup semifinal race. They are sitting at the bottom of the table along with defending champions England.