| Welcome to Global Village Space

Thursday, May 23, 2024

Pakistan to host Tri-nation series after 20 years

Pakistan is set to host the Tri-nation series after a humongous gap of two decades. Pakistan Cricket Board stated following the meeting with the Chairman of PCB Mohsin Naqvi with the chief of South African and New Zealand cricket chiefs.

The national cricket governing body’s statement mentioned that a meeting was held between Naqvi, CSA Chairman Lawson Naidoo, and NZC Chairman Roger Twose to discuss the agenda of an ODI tri-series involving the three countries.

The Tri-nation series is scheduled to be held in February 2025, right before the ICC Champions Trophy. The series was finalized and welcomed by the boards of host and visiting countries.

“The Tri-series between Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand will be an exciting event and it is after a long time that Pakistan will host such a tournament. I would like to thank the heads of NZC and CSA for agreeing to participate in the Tri-series,” said Mohsin Naqvi in a statement.

Naqvi expressed the PCB’s anticipation of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, which would be a significant honor for Pakistan to welcome the top eight ODI teams to its grounds. The last tri-series hosted by the PCB took place in October 2004, featuring visiting teams Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Read more: “We urge India to take action..” Pakistan slams India’s “controversial” bill

Meanwhile, in April, New Zealand is expected to visit Pakistan. The Kiwis will arrive in Pakistan on April 14th, 2024, and will play three T20Is in Rawalpindi at Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Following this, both teams will head to Lahore, where they are scheduled to play the last two T20Is of the series on April 25 and 27. The cricket board confirmed that all five matches of the T20I series will commence at 7 pm.

The New Zealand Cricket team will be visiting Pakistan for the third time within three months. Earlier, they visited Pakistan in December 2022 and January 2023 to participate in two Test matches and three ODIs as part of the ICC Men’s Championship.