| Welcome to Global Village Space

Saturday, July 20, 2024

‘Saawan’ wins best foreign film award at American film festival

News Desk |

Director Farhan Alam clinched another victory for ‘Saawan’ after the movie bagged the award for Best Foreign Film at the 11th Annual Alexandria Film Festival recently held in Virginia, USA.

The film was screened on the second day of the festival.

‘Saawan’ to date has bagged a total of six awards and was selected as Pakistan’s entry for next year’s Academy Awards for the category of Best Foreign Language Movie.

Read more: Movie Preview: Star Wars The Last Jedi

Farhan Alam expressed his joy in a Facebook post. He wrote, “I am proud to announce that ‘Saawan’ has won best foreign film award at the Alexandria Film Festival held in Virginia, USA. Congratulations team Saawan on another win.”

‘Saawan’ previously won the Best Foreign Language Feature Film Award at the Madrid International Film Festival 2017 as well as the Best Film and Best Soundtrack Award at Salento International Film Festival in Italy earlier this year.

It is written and produced by Mashood Qadri. The movie is set in the remote areas of Balochistan and depicts the story of a polio-stricken boy and his journey of survival.

The boy after being abandoned by his father, denounced by society and harassed by his friends, was left to die in the barren desert of Balochistan.

The love and memories of his mother were the strengthening factors that urge him to keep fighting until his last breath.

The movie imparts the message of ‘hope’ to its audiences. It has inspired millions of people around the world since its release. Now the expectation runs high as the movie could potentially be graced with an award at the 2018 Oscars.

Read more: Trailer of “Tiger Zinda Hai” is out with a Big Bang!

The film features Saleem Mairaj Saleem, Syed Karam Abbas, Arif Bahalim, Najiba Faiz and Imran Aslam in the lead roles. The other cast includes Tipu Sharif, Hafeez Ali, Sehrish Qadri, Sohail Malik, Shahid Nizami, Muhammad Abbas, Danial Yunus, Mehek Zulfiqar and Syed Muhammad Ali.