| Welcome to Global Village Space

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Who won the most seats in by-elections of 2021?

As PML-N celebrates its recent victory in Khanewal, it must be noted that it did not secure the highest wins. Interestingly, out of the 18 by-elections to date, PML-N won 6 and came to a close second, meanwhile, the ruling party PTI managed to win only 3 by-elections.

In a victory for Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N), the party retained Khanewal district’s PP-206 constituency. PML-N candidate Rana Muhammad Saleem bagged 47,649 votes.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI)’s Noreen Nishat Daha amassed 34,030 votes whereas PPP’s Syed Wisaq gained 15,059, according to unofficial results from all the 183 polling stations.

As PML-N celebrates its recent victory, it must be noted that Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) won a majority of the by-elections held in 2021. Out of the 18 by-elections to date, PPP won 7 of them, with PML-N coming to a close second. The ruling party PTI managed to win 3 by-elections.

According to details, PPP won the first by-election of 2021. PPP candidate Syed Ameer Ali Shah secured 55,904 to win the PS-52 Umerkot-II by-election. Subsequently, PPP’s Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jillani won the Tharparkar NA-221 by-election with 103,502 votes. Later, candidate Jam Shabbir Ali won PS-43 by-election in Sanghar.

Read more: Can PTI dethrone PPP from Sindh government?

PPP also managed to secure a comfortable win in Karachi’s PS-88 Malir by-election, with Yousuf Murtaza Baloch securing more than 24,000 votes. Interestingly, in the PS-88 by-election, the now-unbanned Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) beat PTI’s candidate with a margin of 1000 votes.

In NA-249 and Badin’s PS-70 by-election, PPP again won. Furthermore, both PPP and PTI managed to retain seats in AJK by-polls 2021.


According to unofficial results, PML-N defeated PTI in both PK-63 Nowshera and PP-51 Wazirabad. Meanwhile, PTI scored a victory in Kurram NA-45 with Fakharuzzaman Bangash receiving 16,911 votes. Important to note, PTI snatched the seat from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) with a margin of more than 1,100 votes.

However, JUI-F did manage to secure one seat. JUI-F candidate defeated rival Asmatullah Tareen of ruling Balochistan Awami Party by winning the seat of PB-20 Pishin-III this year.

Sialkot’s NA-75 became controversial when PML-N accused PTI of rigging. As a result, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) declared the NA-75 by-polls as null and void and re-held the elections where PML-N candidate Nosheen Iftikhar won with 110,075 votes.

Read more: NA-75: Did agencies rig by-polls in Daska?

PML-N also subsequently won PP-84 Khushab by-election after securing 73,081 votes. Among PML-N’s latest victories are the NA-133 and PP-206 by-elections.

As mentioned above, PTI clinched LA-3, Mirpur-III seat in AJK by-elections. Most importantly, prior to this, PTI won the AJK general elections back in July this year. Additionally, PTI also won the PP-38 by-election with candidate Ahsan Saleem Baryar receiving 60,588 from 165 polling stations.

On the other hand, Islami Tehreek Pakistan (ITP) candidate Ayub Waziri won the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly by-election in the Nagar constituency defeating ruling PTI candidate Zulfiqar Ali Behashti by 279 votes.