| Welcome to Global Village Space

Wednesday, June 19, 2024

List of all cricket matches between India & Pakistan

The rivals met in a T20 International for the first time at the 2007 World Cup in Durban.

India and Pakistan clash at the T20 World Cup in Dubai on Sunday in the latest instalment of one of cricket’s biggest rivalries.

AFP Sport looks at the first meetings of the two nations in the sport’s three formats:

First Test

October 16-18, 1952

Five years after partition, India and Pakistan met for the first time.

Pakistan were actually playing their maiden Test match when they took to the field at New Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground.

In their ranks were Abdul Kardar and Amir Elahi who had both played Test cricket for India.

Read more: Tickets sold out for Pak vs India T20 match!

India won the toss, batted and piled up 372 with Hemu Adhikari top scoring with 81 and last man Ghulam Ahmed hitting 50 in a 10th wicket partnership of 109.

In reply, legendary opener and skipper Hanif Mohammad made 51 before Pakistan collapsed from 64-1 to 150 all out with slow left-arm orthodox Vinoo Mankad famously taking 8-52.

Mankad then picked up 5-79 as Pakistan, following on, were dismissed for 152 handing India victory by an innings and 70 runs.

First One-Day International

October 1, 1978

After Pakistan had won the Test series 2-0, the teams met for a three-game ODI series, the first between the two nations.

The opener was held in Quetta as India, who gave Kapil Dev his debut, made 170-7 in 40 overs with Mohinder Armanath top-scoring 51.


Pakistan were comfortable at 82-1 at one stage before slipping to 166-8 to lose by just four runs. Majid Khan stroked a half-century.

Pakistan then levelled the series with an eight-wicket win at Sialkot before the third game in Sahiwal ended in controversy.

In sight of victory, India skipper Bishan Bedi was furious that Sarfraz Nawaz bowled four successive bouncers which were not called wide.

In protest, Bedi conceded the match.

First Twenty20 International

September 14, 2007

The rivals met in a T20 International for the first time at the 2007 World Cup in Durban.

The group match ended in a tie after both sides made 141 which meant a ‘bowl-out’ was used to decide the winner.

Mohammad Asif had taken 4-18 and Pakistan, who had already made sure of their place in the next round, looked set to win the match but Misbah-ul-Haq (53) was run out off the last ball.

Read more: Can Pakistan handle the pressure of T20 World Cup match against India

In the bowl-out, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa all hit the stumps but Pakistan’s Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi missed.

The two sides were to meet also in the final at Johannesburg with India claiming a five-run win.

Meanwhile, Pakistan went to claim the 2009 title.

AFP with additional input by GVS News Desk